Picture
Paris! Such a lovely city! 
Paris! The city of love! The city of lights!

I remember this day almost perfectly. My mom, my brother, and I arrived at the airport in Paris around 10 a.m. We took our luggage and waited in a line for about half an hour to enter a cab that would drive us to our hotel. We stayed at the Normandy Hotel.

We set our suitcases down and plopped on the bed like a dead corpse not having slept on the 13 hour plane ride. But we were in Paris, so there was no time to rest! We got everything situated and within fifteen minutes we were on our feet, with a map, walking through the Tuileries Gardens, and attempting to find out way to the Eiffel Tower. 
We came across a bridge and made our way to the other side of the Seine river that runs through the middle of Paris. We walked a good amount of kilometers that day. My brother and I were seeing who could spot the Eiffel Tower first. (I ended up spotting it first ;) just for the record.) The Eiffel Tower was just marvelous! We stopped in front to take a picture, I was completely speechless. The architecture nearly blew me away. While standing in front of the huge monument I could see a yellow and red elevator climbing up the side. Diagonally! Under the tower hundreds of people gathered, maybe thousands of people, everyone speaking in different languages. There were gypsies, pestering people to buy a small key chain of tower for six euros. After shaking a gypsy off our backs my mom led us into the long line that seemed to wrap around the tower. The worker crammed us into the rather large elevator that would take us to the first floor. As we went up and the speed of the elevator accelerated the floor of the box we were in started to shake. I'm not too particularly fond of elevators so that kind of freaked me out. Let's just say once we got toe the first floor I felt much better. 

We put a euro in the binoculars that they have bolted to the ground and I found our hotel, the Louvre, and a Ferris wheel. After taking turns with my brother looking through the binoculars my mom bumped into some people from Texas that seemed to bump into us several other times on our trip. 

After we were finished looking around the first floor we once again waited in line to make our way to the very top floor (the third one). The elevator shook even harder this time. On the third floor there was a cage leaving no room for anyone to jump out. I wonder if anyone has ever tried to jump from the Eiffel Tower, but I really hope not. The view was even more marvelous on the top! I could see just about anything in Paris. Once again I saw The Louvre, our hotel, the Ferris wheel, and even the Arc de Triumph. Definitely a sight that I will never forget.

It was really late when we started to make our way back home, around midnight actually. We came upon a cafe that night and had dinner outside in the cool air. I remember that my brother and I were so tired that we basically walked like zombies on the way back to the hotel.

I do have to say, the Eiffel Tower probably was one of my most favorite monuments/places to visit in Paris. I can now understand why people like it so much. 
I got pictures from the websites below. (hyperlinks)
Normandy Hotel   The Louvre   Tuileries Gardens    The Eiffel Tower picture I took myself.



Leave a Reply.