Picture
"Cigarettes are a lot like hamsters. Perfectly harmless, until you put one in your mouth and light it one fire." 


Smoking puts so many lives at danger. I always ask myself- Why do people smoke if they know it hurts them self? It's the dang nicotine. It just bothers me, if the people know they're going to get hurt because of smoking they should at least try and stop.

A few months ago a lady from my church informed us with some bad news. Her brother, a heavy smoker, was diagnosed with lung cancer. She quickly booked a flight to Europe and got to see her brother in the last few moments of his life. This lady still smokes, even though she unfortunately lost her brother.

Just letting you know, I'm not judging anyone. I'm just pointing out how hard it is to quit smoking.

Two weeks ago at church a different lady I do not know came up to me. She said, "Save your mom. I just came back from a funeral in Europe. My brother just died from smoking. Save your mom, don't let her smoke any longer." The lady had tears in her eyes and left me very confused. If a stranger came up to you and told you to save your mom how would you react?

And I do try. I try to tell my parents to stop, they have no clue how much it would mean to me if they did make the attempt. I know it's bad, but I even try to put them on the guilt trip.

They won't go to a doctor. They don't even try to quit either. I know I'm not the only one with a smoker in the family. Don't ever smoke. I know we hear it a lot in health class at school, and now sometimes on commercials. But seriously, smoking isn't cool. 

It doesn't matter what you look like when you're smoking. You don't look "cool". Smoking is stupid. I don't understand why it isn't illegal. If something kills people the government should at least put some type of restriction on it. I just don't understand that part. 

I don't even know anymore. But if I were in control, I'd really try to stop this problem. I don't even need to give you any statistics. They're just sad.




Leave a Reply.